84 F150 Duraspark II conversion troubleshooting

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
23 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

84 F150 Duraspark II conversion troubleshooting

Mike1419
Hello everyone. This is my first post. I want to say there is invaluable information in this forum. Please forgive my bad descriptions/terminology. I'm just a shade tree mechanic and a bad one at that.

Recently I decided to downgrade/upgrade my 84 F150 4.9L from the stock electronic ignition system to the Duraspark II. I followed a detailed instruction guide I found here. I replaced my distributor, coil, ignition module, wiring harness and carburetor. I deleted the computer. All with junkyard items with the exception of the carb. I had to source a new carb. I had the old girl running pretty good for about a month. After that it started this business of stalling out under load. It will idle fine but when I try to move it forward or reverse even on flat ground I get all this bucking, fighting and stalling. Almost like a vacuum leak or flooding issue. I've spent a lot of time with this thing and I can't seem to figure it out. As a last ditch effort before I scrap it I figured I'd reach out to the folks here.