classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
19 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Gary Lewis

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Well, I guess since I wrote the words "& Post A Blurb About Yourself" I'd better do so myself.

I'm 70 as of this writing in Aug of 2017, and am retired from a career in Information Technology.  But my background is really closer to engineering.  I'm very involved at church, enjoy traveling (or doing anything for that matter) with my wife of 48 years, and also like Bullnose trucks.

My father passed away about 3 years ago, but before he did he gave me his '81 F150 - "Dad's truck".  However, I had known I was going to get the truck for some time, so decided to learn about them by buying a similar one.  But I made the mistake of buying one that had been sitting for several years and proceeded to fix it up.  Wow, was that costly!  While doing that I bought a couple others that didn't run and parted them out - which is a much better idea.  Then I found one I called Rusty and bought it as it was another '81 and was pretty cheap but just "needed a clutch".  Nope, the rear end was blown up, the driveshafts were totally worn out, the engine ran well but leaked oil and coolant, and the transfer case needed rebuilt.  Then, about the time I got those problems ironed out I fell into Big Blue, an '85 F250HD.

You can read the stories on Dad's truck and Big Blue in their threads, but suffice to say that the Bullnose bug has bitten me very hard.  To the point that I've created a website to house documentation on them - a web site that I like to say is the best in the world for Bullnose documentation, but it may also be the worst in the world as I think it is the only one in the world.  And, I attribute it all to my father, who used to say that I'm "bull-headed".    
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile