Hello All - 1986 F150, 2wd, base trim, 300 engine, 4 speed

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
65 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Hello All - 1986 F150, 2wd, base trim, 300 engine, 4 speed

shosh86
Hi folks, here's my introduction, very glad to be here.  

I picked up a 1986 F150, 2wd, base trim, 300 engine, 4 speed a couple months ago.  I'm the third owner, and the previous owner had it since 1990.  It's got some body panel rust but the interior is in pretty good condition.  I'm new to auto mechanics but am slowly getting my feet wet.  So far I've swapped in a new power steering belt, replaced my leaking heater core, replaced window rubbers and felts, re-sealed the horizontal cowl seam, and added a new radio head unit, speakers, and speaker wiring. When I did the audio stuff, I also added some jute door insulation.

Projects on the horizon are LED gauge cluster lighting, replace burned out cluster indicator lamps, and add a relay harness for the headlights. Those parts are on the way. Down the road, I also plan to reupholster my bench, add new carpet, and add new headliner.  I'll also either repair my dash or get a cover.  At some point, I'll have the truck painted and get new tires, different wheels, and a chrome rear bumper. My current rear bumper is gray-painted steel.  Finally, I want to fix or upgrade my exhaust.  Half of my tailpipe is eaten away by like 10 inches.

Thanks and look forward to posting.

1986 F150, 300 engine, 4 speed, 2WD, base trim
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Hello All - 1986 F150, 2wd, base trim, 300 engine, 4 speed

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Thanks for the intro.  And, glad you joined.  

Where's home?  I ask because we have a map (Bullnose Forum/Member's Map in the menu) and we can add you with a city/state or zip.

Sounds like your truck has good bones.  And your plans seem sound.  I'm anxious to ride along as you upgrade it, so I hope you'll start a thread to tell us what you do as you do it.