86 5.0 efi runs terrible

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
25 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

86 5.0 efi runs terrible

86' 5.0 short box
Hi im new to this whole forum thing. I purchased a 1986 Ford f150 with the 302 V8 efi engine. The guy I bought it from said it was sitting for around 2 years and when we went to look at it, it would run for a couple of seconds and die. Since then I have put a new high pressure fuel pump, a fuel pressure regulator, a map sensor, timed and made sure I had spark and correct firing order, the pip sensor is good, replaced some gaskets, the injectors are working correctly, all valve train is in good operational shape, and it has good compression (160-185 psi) I have got it to run better and longer than when I got it but it still isn't firing on # 3&4 cylinders. Also the smog pump is removed and the catalytic converters are removed, I dont know what to do next, any and all info helps. Thanks
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: 86 5.0 efi runs terrible

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Welcome to the forum.  But before we get to your truck, you were asked to go to the New Members Start Here folder and post there.  That's because the guidelines we hold people to very closely are there.  So, since you didn't, please assure me you've read them?

And, my usual first question when someone gives an intro is to ask them where home is.  That's because we have a map (Bullnose Forum/Member's Map in the menu) and we could put you on if we had a city or a zip.

On the engine, have you pulled the codes the ECU is throwing?  That would be the first step.

But, there were two firing orders for the 302.  They are:

1-5-4-2-6-3-7-8
1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8

Which one are you using?  
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches