4160 carb install and tune (for Mike)

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
57 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: 4160 carb install and tune (for Cobra)

ArdWrknTrk
Administrator
Good morning Mike!
My name is Jim.... it's right there in my signature.

You have a Cobra and I have a Hard Working Truck.
Just turned 460,000 miles, full of northern rust and never without a half ton of carpentry tools in my two Knaack boxes.

Yep. I'm a carpenter by trade.
Started in high school going to apprentice classes at night, once I quit my night job.

Everyone has questions.
None of them are "dumb questions"
If it helps you, or someone else, understand how their truck works or how to fix it.
That's why we participate in this forum.

It's going to be OUR conversation about the DuraSpark II ignition system.
It's advantages and flaws.

What would you like to know about how it works?
 Jim,
Lil'Red is a '87 F250 HD, 4.10's, 1356 4x4, Zf-5, 3G, PMGR, Saginaw PS, desmogged with a Holley 80508 and Performer intake.
Too much other stuff to mention.
Reply | Threaded
|

Gary Lewis
Administrator
I'm going to "read the mail" for the most part.  But we have the section of the factory shop manual on ignition systems on the page at Documentation/Electrical/Ignition.  And it has a decent overview of how the DS-II system works.

Mike - Jim pointed out that he has his name in his signature.  Would you mind doing the same?  That really helps me keep names straight.  Thanks!
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow
Big Blue: 1985 F250HD 4x4: 460/ZF5/3.55's, D60 w/Ox locker & 10.25 Sterling/Trutrac, Blue Top & Borgeson, & EEC-V MAF/SEFI

Reply | Threaded
|

Angelo Voltura
In reply to this post by 26ftcobraBBF