thoughts and speculations on changing my gearing

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
14 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

thoughts and speculations on changing my gearing

Jack Boetjer
Hi. as some of you guys know, im a 16 year old kid, which implies that I am (when its comes grandeur and spectacular over reaching ideas of truck "improvements") rather incompetent. this being said, if this project idea is well over my head and to large, don't be afraid to shoot it down. that aside, my idea is to change my gears in my front and read differential. im no expert on changing these and have yet to fully understand how a 4x4 drivetrain works mathmatically. I want to change my 4.56 gears to 4.10. I don't tow much and I don't need those large 4.56 gears. having the smaller gears im hoping will improve my highway speed and possibly gas milage, although it is a 460 so im definitely going to remain single digits or very low double. I need to find out what transmission and transfer case I have, but im hoping you all can help me decode a few pictures and help me out. any help at all on choosing gears, changing gears, and a hand on figuring out my situation would be very greatly appreciated.

- Jack
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: thoughts and speculations on changing my gearing

FuzzFace2
So from your post we know its a 4x4 with a 460 think that all we know.
What year is the truck, auto or stick transmission?
What size tires on the truck or you plan to run as this will dictate the gearing you need.
Suspension or body lift on it or planed?

A gear swap is not cheap and you have it x2.

I can tell you if you have not done a gear swap and you will need to do it 2 times it is not something for some one that has never done it before to do. I have done a few (5) over the years with help from a buddy and only now would I even try it by my self, would have to as buddy is many miles away from me now.

Do you know what rear axle you have in the truck now?