(Normal)
9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Troubleshooting slowdown or low rev stalls

macnewbie
Hello,

I am a relative newcomer to the forum, slowly learning about my new-to-me 1986 XLT Lariat truck. I have slowly been working down a list of a few things that require some attention.

Among them are engine stalls that happen when decelerating (for instance when making a turn) or at low revs from a stop.

My truck has the 351 HO engine with the Holley 4180 carb. Reading online, it seems likely that the root cause is either a vacuum leak or something going on with the accelerator pump.

I am mechanically inclined and have access to a well-stocked shop, but I have never done this before - how do I go about troubleshooting to figure this out?

Thanks!

Juan
Juan

1986 F-150 XLT Lariat 2WD, 351w HO
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Troubleshooting slowdown or low rev stalls

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Juan - Welcome!  Glad you joined.  

However, you may have missed the email that asked you to post first in the New Members Start Here folder.  The reason for that is because we have our guidelines posted there.  We ask you to do that to ensure you've had a chance to read them because we hold everyone to them.

So, can you assure us that you've read them?
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow
Big Blue: 1985 F250HD 4x4: 460/ZF5/3.55's, D60 w/Ox locker & 10.25 Sterling/Trutrac, Blue Top & Borgeson, & EEC-V MAF/SEFI

Reply | Threaded
|

macnewbie
This post was updated on .
hmmm. I think you are confused Gary -I did post an intro thread.
Juan

Reply | Threaded
|

Gary Lewis
Administrator
I am confused.    Thanks for pointing that out.