New member, new truck

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New member, new truck

Dayton925
Just picked up a 1983 f-150 4x4 long bed, single cab. It was given to me by a friend who bought it brand new, if I agreed to restore it with my son for his first vehicle. My son is 10, and I can’t wait to get this project underway! I had been eyeballing his truck for years and trying to buy it off him. A few days ago he handed me the keys! I am a California resident, so building it the way I want is going to be tricky, while keeping it smog legal. My thoughts currently are a coyote motor swap with a 6R80 transmission, combined with a solo Motorsports, stage 2 mid travel suspension set up. Also, I plan on switching the interior color from brown to black, since it needs to be redone, and painted anyway. If anybody has any advice, it would be greatly appreciated! Thank you, Ryan
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: New member, new truck

mat in tn
restore it! leave the coyote in the mustang!
Reply | Threaded
|

Gary Lewis
Administrator
In reply to this post by Dayton925
Welcome, Ryan!  Glad you joined.  

That's a neat story, and I can't wait to follow along on the build.  But I'm wondering if it is possible to make it smog legal with the mod's you are thinking about.  I think I'm with Matt - restore it, at least the engine part of it.  That way you know you can meet the requirements.

Otherwise I fear you could spend a lot of money and not be able to make it work.  Or, do you already know how to do that and meet the requirements?
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow