classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New member from Vancouver BC

Rowland
Proud owner of a manual 1984 f150 i6 4x4

A little back ground. Bought the truck 3 years ago and drove it for 8 months before it started running rough. Took it off the road and its been sitting since. No clue on milage or previous maintenance.

Im no mechanic but i have basic skills and the right attitude. The plan is to get her (Meghan) functioning excellent and take it to the bush to explore back roads and the odd day at work.  

I started today with the carb as it was idling rough when i took it off the road. I have the intention of just getting a new one. To my surprise upon removal i found a vacuum line that was cut and melted shut and an insulated line that goes to the side of the engine totally rusted through and detached.

I cant see the calibration code, and the parts shop doesnt have the specific one listed with the basic information about the truck. (Yet to search the site for this info).

Needless to say i found this site and look forward to my build and having you guys and this site in my back pocket. Pardon my ignorance and cheers to the future.

Rowland
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: New member from Vancouver BC

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Rowland - As said in the New Members Start Here post, you may want to use this thread to troubleshoot your truck.  But, if so you will probably want to edit your opening post and change the title.

And while I'm thinking about your truck, I'll bet the problem is to do with broken vacuum lines, bad or modified wiring, etc.  So I think we can help you get it going.