Is my intake manifold too warped?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Is my intake manifold too warped?

TheGeneral

I am trying to fix an exhaust manifold leak and I have never done this before.  I got so caught up in the cracks and crevices to clean for painting that I didn't realize how crooked the intake is.  The ports seemed to all be touching the tarp though?...  

Is this a normal amount of bend, or a clear warp that means I need to replace it??  I was incredibly unimpressed with the new exhaust manifold I bought already (I know now I should have bought both).  I am already well in over my head but I am plowing forward, I just do not have the resilience some people have where they do the manifolds one, two, three times !!!! before getting the leak fixed.  

Advice from ye wise sages??  
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Is my intake manifold too warped?

Gary Lewis
Administrator
As said in the other thread, put a straightedge on it to see how much warp there is.  You'll be checking where it bolts to the engine, the faces of the runners.
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow
Big Blue: 1985 F250HD 4x4: 460/ZF5/3.55's, D60 w/Ox locker & 10.25 Sterling/Trutrac, Blue Top & Borgeson, & EEC-V MAF/SEFI

Reply | Threaded
|

TheGeneral
ok thank you,
sorry about the double post, I am unsure if stuff gets lost in a long thread or what...
Reply | Threaded
|

Rembrant
In reply to this post by TheGeneral
TheGeneral wrote
I got so caught up in the cracks and crevices to clean for painting that I didn't realize how crooked the intake is.  The ports seemed to all be touching the tarp though?...