Hello from Texas with my one-owner '86

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
7 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Hello from Texas with my one-owner '86

86Bug Truck
Thank you all so much for your contributions to this site - what a treasure of information. I have taken on my dad’s truck - he bought it new in 1986 - this was our rodeo truck until it became our ranch truck, where it was most definitely rode hard and put up wet. I’ve hauled it to my place and hope to restore and preserve it as a driver.

It’s a F250 4x4, standard transmission, with a 6.9 IDI. All basically stock. It runs and shifts, the outer body is in decent shape, and that’s the end of the good news. Everything not painted is a rusted mess, and the cab interior looks like a cattle rancher used it for work.  I have little experience with diesels (or car projects for that matter). My only mechanical background is that I built and raced vintage dirt bikes. I have deduced that diesels are a far cry from two stroke engines. This weekend I started on the poor thing. My approach makes sense (to me) - get it down to frame (at least partially, starting with rear). Look for anything catastrophic, and go from there.

So, pulled the giant rear bumper, frame rails/headache, old school toolbox, and began bed removal. I found that the bed hitch was welded to the frame (thanks dad), cut that away, then found that 5 of the six bed mount bolts were wallered out and spinning. Much creativity and cussing, got those all removed. Now need to build a makeshift rolling stand to set the bed on for later. The bed floor is all rusted out (with the help of a spray-on bed liner X years ago - thanks again dad). Not sure how salvageable that will be, but the body panels all seem solid.