Greetings, 1982 F100 owner

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
32 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Greetings, 1982 F100 owner

Djtorello
Hello, Im Dave from North Carolina, previously New York. I have a 1982 Ford F100 with the 4.9l Straight 6.  I think its the c6 transmission, but im still learning about it.

The truck has had 7 previous owners, and it was an old farm truck, which sat in a field for some untold amount of years.  Some fresh fuel, a hose, and a mechanical fuel pump, cap/rotor and drove (barely) out of the field, on dry rotted, wasp filled tires.  

It has seen better days for sure.  It needs a new bench seat, has some minor body rot on the passenger side  lower door section, and a small spot on the driver side rear quarter near the bumper.   It lacks anything associated as a clear coat, and the hood is peeling.  The windshield leaked, which is currently silicone slathered till i can afford a replacement.  

The brakes/lines, steering, suspension and fuel systems are currently in the process of being fixed/updated as best as i can.  And when i get home, I'll add pictures to go with this post.  

Downside, as if anything above wasn't a downside already, due to several prior owners, many systems and equipment  is rigged or changed, all willy nillie, and I'm struggling to figure some of it out.  So i will be asking a lot of questions in the coming weeks and months.  

Thank you for your time.
1982 Ford F100, 4.9L (300ci) L6, C6.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Greetings, 1982 F100 owner

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Welcome, Dave!  Glad you joined.  

Where in North Carolina?  I ask because we have a map (Bullnose Forum/Member's Map in the menu) and can add you with a city or zip.

Sounds like you have a lot of peeling to do.  (I liken these trucks to onions.  You peel and cry, peel and cry, but pretty soon you have enough to have a Bloomin' Onion.  )
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile