Fuel Sending Unit Fitment

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
10 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Fuel Sending Unit Fitment

Kevin6980
Hello everyone! My sending unit recently went out and the only one I can find looks like it has provisions for an in-tank fuel pump but I have the mechanical pump on my 4.9l. My question is will that still work or do I need to modify it somehow? I have a 1986 F150 with a short bed so I'm assuming it's the 16 gallon tank. Also here is the link to what I found on ebay.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/165595124790?mkcid=16&mkevt=1&mkrid=711-127632-2357-0&ssspo=k1sxchubqwc&sssrc=4429486&ssuid=SxF0n3LtQWa&var=&widget_ver=artemis&media=COPY

P.S. I've never used a forum before and I'm not very tech savvy so please let me know if I did something wrong here! Thanks!
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Fuel Sending Unit Fitment

Gary Lewis
Administrator
I think you are using the forum quite well.  

Yes, you should have the 16.5 gallon midship tank, E5TZ-E.  And since it is used for all engines including the EFI'd 302 then it'll have the larger opening, which that sending unit appears to have.  So I think that unit would work fine, although you'd want to cap the return line.
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow
Big Blue: 1985 F250HD 4x4: 460/ZF5/3.55's, D60 w/Ox locker & 10.25 Sterling/Trutrac, Blue Top & Borgeson, & EEC-V MAF/SEFI

Reply | Threaded
|

Kevin6980
Thank you so much! Would you also happen to know the thread pitch for the carb studs in the intake?
Reply | Threaded
|

Gary Lewis
Administrator
The one intake I have uses 5/16-18 threads.