Fuel Pump Won't Prime

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Fuel Pump Won't Prime

justinsfordtruck
Hello Everyone My Name is Justin I am new to the forum here! I have a 1985 F-250 with a 460 and dual tanks. I am having a bit of a problem with the old girl, the fuel pumps wont prime! I am most concerned about getting it to run on the front tank, The front tank pump does prime when I jump it from the pink and black wire at the solenoid. However I does not when I go in the cab to start the vehicle. I will give a short run down of what I have done to the truck thus far. I also do have a homemade iphone video I can post if thats ok showing what I have going on so its easier to see what I am talking about, I am new to wrenching and definitely learning as I go here lol. Anyways back to the truck so, to start I have replace the fuel tank the pump sending unit and everything to do with the front tank, that even includes lines vent and filler neck. After doing that I figured it is not a mechanical issue and that I need to start learning some electrical. (which on a side note is pretty fun, but challenging I may add) So first thing I had to do was replace the solenoid because when I was trying to crank it to see if it would start it was sparking and welding one of the connections to the solenoid. So with the new one that was fixed, from there I replace the pigtail on the pink and black wire at the solenoid and a new 20 amp fusible link in that wire. When I jump this wire (pink and black) I do hear the new pump priming but still nothing when I go to start it. after that I replaced the two relays. when that didn't give me anything I went in side the cab and checked the inertia switch and tried to jump it still nothing. So now I am wondering If there could be a problem with one of the wires going to the inertia switch, I am going to check them later today. Other than that I am kinda lost. I appreciate