Electrical hacks. Maybe.

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
18 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Electrical hacks. Maybe.

FL86BRONCO
Hi there, I just bought myself an 86 bronco and couldn't be more excited to get to work on it. I do need to get the lights all working first. A bit of background, I work on Toyotas for a living and have for 16 years so I should be familiar with some of the terms used but I don't work on anything that's carbureted. This truck has been through a lot of hacks, none off the electronics work at all. The fuse panel doesn't get voltage to it. It starts and runs and drives, alternator has 13v but there are a lot of wires cut under the hood. I printed out some wiring diagrams from alldata and identifix at work but it doesn't really show me power going to the fuse panel. Could someone please give me some direction that maybe has some knowledge? These pictures don't seem to be very big but I can get more detailed ones. Thank you for this great resource!
1986 Bronco
351w carb
4x4
4 speed manual
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Electrical hacks. Maybe.

Gary Lewis
Administrator
You are a candidate for the Electrical & Vacuum Troubleshooting Manual (EVTM) from Ford.  It breaks the wiring diagram into systems.  And the specific set of pages you need are here: http://www.garysgaragemahal.com/charge--power-distribution---gasoline-engines.html, the significant pages of which I'll paste below.

I'm going to guess that you have a blown fuse link.  Most of those are attached to the starter relay on the fender, and the easiest way to check them is to pull on them.  A blown one will stretch like a rubber band 'cause the wire inside is blown.  A good one is a solid piece of wire.

Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches