Brake whoas and conundrums

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
29 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Brake whoas and conundrums

StpaulF100
I knew I need to replace my master cylinder as it would fade at a stop. So like most people I’ve had all the parts in my cart at rock auto for a solid week. Today I noticed my rear brake lights were stuck on when the truck was off and the headlights were turned off. In my past this had led me to believe I have a failed master cylinder. So I picked one up today from Napa, bench bled it and slapped it on. While waiting for my bleeding partner and finishing cooking dinner the brake light are still on!  So yes I need to bleed the brakes and check for leaks but do o Have a bad headlight switch or brake booster as well as a failed master?  Just putting this in writing to try and track my next steps. Any help or ideas are encouraged.

Thanks.
1980 f100 custom 4.9l c6 2.75 rear gears.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Brake whoas and conundrums

Gary Lewis
Administrator
The brake lights aren't connected to the hydraulic part of the braking system.  Instead they are controlled by a switch on the brake linkage up under the dash.  It is base part number 13480 in the drawing below, and it seems that you either have a bad switch or something wrong with the linkage.

I'd play with the linkage to ensure that there's not pressure on the switch all the time.  And maybe take the switch off and check it out.  BUT, it goes on in an odd way so take a pic of how it is on - assuming it hasn't been taken off and put back on incorrectly.

Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow