classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
31 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Advice for Smog Removal Components

Machspeed
Administrator
Hope not to be a bother....newbie here asking a ton of questions. Know that I do appreciate your input, though.

The guy at Oreilly's tried to sell me an intake manifold gasket set with a valley pan gasket. It's been a long time, but I don't recall my truck having such a thing. I do recall installing them on some old 351 Cleveland's years ago, but not a Windsor. Anyway, I declined the pan and went with Felpro MS90361. I understand the purpose of that valley pan and wondering now if I should have gone with it?

That aside, I've attached a couple of photos below. There is a dead end hole drilled in both heads above the EGR ports. I stuck a screw driver in there and it goes nowhere. What is the purpose of these? Also, I doubt it is an issue but note how it is opened up above my intake gasket.  

Thanks!

John

"Blackie" - 1986 F150 4x4 - Mildly warmed over 351W HO - Original owner
Reply | Threaded
|

Gary Lewis
Administrator
I don't know the purpose of that hole.  And I've not seen a Windsor with a valley pan.  M-Block and 460 yes, but not Windsor.  Maybe I've missed them?

As for thermostat temp, the listing from the Master Parts Catalog are on this page: Documentation/Cooling Systems/Thermostats.  Out of twenty one listings there are two 197's and one 195, with all the rest being 192.  
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow
Big Blue: 1985 F250HD 4x4: 460/ZF5/3.55's, D60 w/Ox locker & 10.25 Sterling/Trutrac, Blue Top & Borgeson, & EEC-V MAF/SEFI

Reply | Threaded
|

old55pete
In reply to this post by Machspeed