86 fuel pump relay grounding circuit

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
16 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

86 fuel pump relay grounding circuit

Justfixit
Life long Ford lover and custom builder. Millwright by trade but have worn many mechanics hats over the years.

I don’t normally ask for help but after reading for hours and hours on different forums I am at my wits end. Restoring my late father‘s 1986 Ford F150 4x4, 5.0, manual transmission, with dual tanks.
 The issue I am having is no fuel pumps with key in on position.
I have 12 V constant power to relay and I’m getting signal to relay when ignition key is on but the tan and green wire going to pin number 22 is not receiving ground signal from ECM. If I hook up ground to test connector pumps will run and engine starts as long it it is connected. image269.jpg
I drove it to the paint and body shop 18 months ago and now having this problem so it could be something as simple as a plug that I am missing that they fail to hook up when they removed  fenders. Also on a side note the alternate appears to be draining battery so I know I need to replace that also but not sure if it’s related to this problem.
86 F150,4x4, standard transmission, duel tank, 5.0
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: 86 fuel pump relay grounding circuit

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Welcome to the Bullnose Forum!  Glad you joined.  

But before we dive into problem solving we need to discuss our guidelines.  You probably missed the email you were sent asking you to go to the New Members Start Here folder, read the guidelines, and then introduce yourself by starting a new thread in that folder.  Don't worry, about 50% of the people miss that email/step.