85 Starter switch fitment, what position is the starter switch in with centering wire?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
2 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

85 Starter switch fitment, what position is the starter switch in with centering wire?

Don Wollum
Hi Gents,

New to F 150, technician by trade though. Helping friend replace starter switch and new switch has position centering "wire - clip " referencing where the ign key link rod will then fit " referenced " to what position the key is in ( X position ) theoretically the ign key is in one position ( lock / off / run  / start ( crank )

the new fomoco sw does not say what position the wire is "centering: the electrical switch in

so I can then move the ign key - hence the rod - to the corresponding position.

Can I get that bit of information for this indexing procedure?

Main F-150 web site says use "lock" ( where rod is then withdrawn up towards steering whee/ ) and mew

switch - with centering "wire" will line up the hole the rod end needs to engage.

this seems wrong, as with wire out, i push slider towards engine to next click " run" then towards firewall next is spring loaded Crank position.

back at new switch pulling wire out to move slider the rod fits int.. there is on more detente for park/lock

I say the switch comes from manufacture in " off" position, is that where I turn the key to be in the off

position, so rod DOES line up?  
ford install manual information for this setting up MOST welcome. Don  

Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: 85 Starter switch fitment, what position is the starter switch in with centering wire?

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Don - Welcome to the forum. Glad you joined.