Bullnose Forums

1986 F-150 4x4: "Ol' Blue"

Fredwood

Hello all -

I am from Klein, Texas and this is my 1986 F-150 XLT Lariat. It is a SuperCab long box with the 5.8L H.O., a C6, and 3.50 gears with rear limited-slip differential. It has has some rot in the body and a couple spots in the bed, but it should all be rather manageable. It does not currently run and has been sitting for upwards of 8 years, but the mechanical components and chassis appear to be solid, if not a little crusty from sitting. This is my first project vehicle, so I have a lot to learn, but this seems to be the place to look for help and guidance. It took a few years to find what I was looking for, so I cannot wait to get it running just in time to tear it all apart.

PXL_20210822_2341096081.jpg.29e5111c97e1c9a13de828f8f1bcf65c.jpg

Looks like fun. When you get really ready to get your hands dirty, let us all know what it does and doesn't do and someone can possibly help you in the right direction. MAke sure the engine isn't locked to start with. After that, just a matter of some oil, coolant, spark, air, and fuel. Fuel injected or carbed?

I look forward to seeing this one come to life.

....just a matter of some oil, coolant, spark, air, and fuel. Fuel injected or carbed?

351 HO would have the venerable 4180 4V carburetor and DuraSpark ignition Randy.

As I said above, it really doesn't get simpler or more reliable with this era of trucks.

Hopefully he can get the engine freed up and running without too much trouble.

Looks like fun. When you get really ready to get your hands dirty, let us all know what it does and doesn't do and someone can possibly help you in the right direction. MAke sure the engine isn't locked to start with. After that, just a matter of some oil, coolant, spark, air, and fuel. Fuel injected or carbed?

I look forward to seeing this one come to life.