Bullnose Forums

Brake whoas and conundrums

I knew I need to replace my master cylinder as it would fade at a stop. So like most people I’ve had all the parts in my cart at rock auto for a solid week. Today I noticed my rear brake lights were stuck on when the truck was off and the headlights were turned off. In my past this had led me to believe I have a failed master cylinder. So I picked one up today from Napa, bench bled it and slapped it on. While waiting for my bleeding partner and finishing cooking dinner the brake light are still on! So yes I need to bleed the brakes and check for leaks but do o Have a bad headlight switch or brake booster as well as a failed master? Just putting this in writing to try and track my next steps. Any help or ideas are encouraged.

Thanks.

The brake lights aren't connected to the hydraulic part of the braking system. Instead they are controlled by a switch on the brake linkage up under the dash. It is base part number 13480 in the drawing below, and it seems that you either have a bad switch or something wrong with the linkage.

I'd play with the linkage to ensure that there's not pressure on the switch all the time. And maybe take the switch off and check it out. BUT, it goes on in an odd way so take a pic of how it is on - assuming it hasn't been taken off and put back on incorrectly.

mechanical-linkage-c_1.thumb.jpg.3d7afb8f124f7c762d41d5c402e41210.jpg

I went out one evening to get a photo of the brake light switch mounting for a fellow forum member. Couple hours later, my daughter came in and said my brake lights were on. I had moved the switch some for a better photo and it stuck on. I repositioned it and lights went off. All that to say to check the psition of the switch. Or the switch is failing, but when mine failed, it just had random brake lights. Has nothing to do with how the master cylinder works.