Bullnose Forums

New member with a 1980 F250 4x4

WJH308

Hello all, thanks for sharing this forum with me. Buying from a friend a 1980 F250 4x4 that apparently was built for fire service? The Vin has a few extra letters in it beyond the engine and location code. I’m still learning about all of this but apparently it has a really good front end and a upgraded transmission. Front and rear posi. Has a nice lumber rack on it. The engine is blown. My friend let some one borrow it and he drove it with no oil, so I’m looking at either another 351 or a 460, or what ever you guys may suggest. It needs some bodywork as well. 09CA2975-A7D5-4413-86B3-7A0C61626449.jpeg.101c0d7731104fdf2f592fd1c342418d.jpeg

I’ll be taking the truck in shortly for the new engine, I was told it wasn’t the C6. The shop will know what it has. I’ll look at the 400 option.

The 400 was the largest of the 335 series engines and commonly found in land barges sold during the '70's & early '80's.

While it doesn't seem to get much love because it was so hobbled by the crude approach to emissions controls at the time they can be built to perform quite well.

The owner of this forum, Gary, has one installed in his father's truck.

Looking back on that build thread I realize that the deck height is the same as the 351M, and only differs from the 351 Cleveland that predated it.

The 400 differs from the 351M in crank throw and piston height.

I'm sure he can fill you in on the details, but not having to change things like the exhaust system and engine mounting perches would go a long way toward swaying me from considering a 460.

The 400 was the largest of the 335 series engines and commonly found in land barges sold during the '70's & early '80's.

While it doesn't seem to get much love because it was so hobbled by the crude approach to emissions controls at the time they can be built to perform quite well.

The owner of this forum, Gary, has one installed in his father's truck.