Bullnose Forums

Greetings from Washington State

CRittaler

Hello! My name is Chris and I am originally from Victoria BC, Canada an am now residing in Marysville, WA. My background is Electrical Engineering with a focus on Electromagnetics and Photonics. The majority of my work background has been in the world of RF transmission and reception, specifically repeater infrastructure that emergency services use to communicate between each other and dispatch.

I purchased this basket case 1985 F250 XLT a couple of weeks ago. What I know about the truck:

460 gas engine was replaced with a reman ~3 years ago. The previous previous owner gave the paperwork for the work to the person I bought the truck off of.

The previous owner swapped the C6 auto for a ZF5-42 and transfer case intending to swap to 4x4 at some point in the future.

The truck is originally from California so it has suffered a lot of UV damage, mostly to the paint, bench seat and door cards.

Because it's a 460 from California and has factory AC is also came with the hot fuel option. The previous owner has hacked up the fuel system to install an inline fuel pump on the frame rail. The 6 port FSV is missing and was replaced with 2 3 port FSV and a manual toggle switch was installed to select the appropriate sending unit. At some point during the fuel work they ran out of hose clamps and instead decided that zip ties were appropriate to clamp the fuel hose over the now hacked up nylon fuel line.

I've been working on repairing the wiring harness under the truck since it's been hacked up and I've also been tracking down the trailer brake wiring that has also been hacked up.

The truck came with the canopy in the picture and was full of spare parts including a D50 TTB front axle to complete the 4x4 swap.

This is my first Ford product and my first big block. My other vehicles are my daily driver, a 1988 Suzuki Samurai, and my project car, a 1968 Dodge Dart.