Bullnose Forums

1981 f250 Coachman (motorhome) I6 timing issues Need HELP

First I would like to thank everyone on here and Gary for this awesome collection!!! Well done!!!! Im new to the bullnose community and am having trouble adjusting my timing. it was popping on hill on the way home from buying it........I bought the camper to restore and Im well on my way to being done......now I'm turning my attention to the motor. It has 42,000 and is stock. yfa 1 bbl carb etc...it looks like the ignition module/coil? was replaced due to not having the "yellow and black" wire's that the Haynes manual says.....

Haynes manual says.......

" If the vehicle is an early California model with an inline six-cylinder engine with MCU-controlled Duraspark, disconnect the vacuum advance hoses and plug hoses. Locate the Duraspark module and disconnect the Yellow and Black wire connector. Jumper the Yellow and Black wires together on the module side of the harness. Note: Jumping the pins overrides the ignition module. Accurate timing measurements can only be made in this mode."

Q: more than 1 hose? location of those hoses? I know one of them is coming off the distributor

Q: Yellow and Black wires? what other color could the be? I'll check tomorrow to see what ignition it has but I dont want to jumper the wrong wires.

Any help would be greatly helpful!!!!

Welcome to the forum! :nabble_waving_orig:

Ok, you have a 1981 F250 with a 4.9l straight six.

We should look at the Ford Electrical and Vacuum Troubleshooting Manual.

Unfortunately, often the Haynes and Clymer manuals don't have the correct (or ALL the) information in them.

They are not discussing a normal DuraSpark II module.

If I go to "documentation"> electrical> 1981 EVTM> ignition> I'm seeing on page 32 that in 1981 only the 5.0 & 5.8l V8 engines have the California MCU.

if you need to set the timing of a DSII model truck all you need is to disconnect or clamp the vacuum line to the distributor.