Bullnose Forums

Holley 4160 carburetor compatibility questions

I'm new to all of this so bear with me, but I recently purchased an 85 F250 with a 460. I'm in the process of swapping carburetors from what I believe is a 4180c to a rebuilt holley 4160 with an electric choke. My first question is if anyone knows of a throttle cable bracket that works with this carburetor, or if I will have to get a new throttle cable. Second question is about the vacuum hoses. I'm planning on replacing all of the vacuum hoses and I don't know if I should replace in the exact configuration on the diagram or if I should have a line that goes from the distributor straight to the metering block. Last question is about wiring the electric choke, I'm not sure where I should splice it to. Here's a few pictures of where I'm at.

carb.thumb.jpg.43a757505f1a666888d8cd867c557d7c.jpg

tcb1.jpg.ba7a93400055ec9e74ca5006c1aeb72d.jpg

Here's the current throttle cable bracket, also the old carb had the Air Conditioning compensator which unfortunatly was incompatible with the new carb.

vac_diagram.thumb.jpg.0b43e275307c968c6e6bf017af8dec8a.jpg

This is the vacuum diagram

Not sure what it came off of, I bought it from a shop that rebuilds them.

Frank, I have a 4160 0-08457s that's been on my truck.

You need the proper throttle ball stud arm, and the vacuum advance should go to the Thermal Vacuum Switch on the water neck.

That switch should have manifold vacuum to both sides, and a small plastic vacuum restriction in one of those manifold sources.

I can pull it down and post some pics in the morning (not like I have anywhere else to be :nabble_smiley_unhappy:)

I don't have a 460, but I did install a new Holley 4160 on my 302. I bought the kit below, and my stock throttle cable and bracket worked just fine. I forget which one fit exactly, but one of them was perfect for the Ford cable.

https://www.holley.com/products/fuel_systems/carburetor_components/brackets_and_linkage/parts/20-2