Bullnose Forums

1982 F100 Project

Alex Guenther

Here is my 1982 F100 Project

truck.jpg.b7df28ae8faf90ccc550a43bbecb87b2.jpg

Truck came with the 3.8 V6 and SROD transmission but both of those are out now and I am looking to swap engines (transmission too?) and want to reach out for any advice. I already got great feedback in my introduction thread (thanks!) about going with a 302 or 351w and I ended up purchasing the engine perches found in the marketplace forum (thanks again!).

Overall project goal: This will be a street truck and not be a daily driver so I am not concerned with MPG or worried about towing. I should also mention this is my first project and up until pulling the engine, I have only ever done oil changes and a brake job awhile back. That being said, I am just looking for something fun to drive and work on and enjoy the learning process with.

I would like to get a running engine and have been looking for 351s on car-parts.com and had a few questions I would love some feedback on:

Most of the engines I am seeing are between $450 and $550. They all say they are running and tested but only a few have compression or oil test results. Is this something you can generally ask for or do you have to buy it then do it yourself?

From what I researched, converting a EFI engine to carb would mean swapping out the intake manifold and making sure I have a duraspark II distributor with a steel gear? I am sure I am missing something so I just wanted to ask.

As for transmission, can the SROD hold up to a 351? I would like to swap it out with something sturdier but hoping to make the swap as beginner friendly as possible. Would switching to a TOD or SMOD hold up to the new 351? I see the NP435 goes to the same bellhousing but I am not sure what else would be involved. Any tranny recommendations with heavy leaning towards swap ease?

I apologize for all the questions and just want to thank everyone in advance.