Bullnose Forums

Zombie, Frankenstein,golem 1983 F250 Work in progress

ebbsrig

Zombie1.jpg.880e0b76c6231d079d572b10257c7222.jpg Got on the forum a month or so afo and Mr Gary Lewis suggested a build topic on the main index. Full disclosure, I am a dang good mechanic, but useless at the computer stuff. If I did this right, the angeles in hevean are singing and a picture of the Zombie is on this post

I picked this 1983 f250 a year or so ago for $1500, the old girl was in pretty rough shape. 6.9 idi 4 speed combo was in pretty rough shape, the bed was total crap but the body and bones was pretty solid. So I took a few pieces off to get a better look.zombieA1.jpg.90a8663ef0a5d11b4ad885fb829cdfc7.jpg

Now, I been told that to make an omelet you got to break some eggs. Well I don't like breaking eggs so I went out to fine some a pre-broken eggs.DSCN0122.thumb.jpg.b16dddf61b4a30775e26a72d48eb2e87.jpg

Craigslist had this mangled chunk of iron listed for $2500 'cause it had a running engine. When I responded to the add and arrived at the seller's place I said.... gentlemen...start your engine. Alas they could not so I priced up cores for all the parts I could use and gave them $1400 for the wreck. When I got the wreck home I waved my magic wrenches over the engine and she fired up. The engine and transmission became the heart of the Zombie.

Then the junkyard scrounging began in earnest. Picked up a few nice pieces, full factory turbo set up, couple doors, instrument cluster with tachometer and the list goes on.

Suddenly and without warning Montana decided it was winter time. zombie2.jpg.093cc6d5219717a4c27ccab496538549.jpg

During the course of the winter I managed to break the Dana 44 TTB which necessitated a slight modification to the drive train...Dana 60 monobeam axle swap.

axle_swap.thumb.jpg.79da375a12a42d80e9b259d435d4594b.jpg