Bullnose Forums

Building a high shelf in my shop

Clutch47

20230907_130526.jpg.3ac0a17b505e82066f8bed019ff172d3.jpg

Picture from September. Building my last shop, and this post is about the high shelf I'm putting along the back wall just above those windows. It will be 40' in length and around 28" deep.

20240209_110205.jpg.368cca14782e891ca5501ed946d946ae.jpg

Built 7 of these from 2x2 thin wall square tubing and leftover 2x1/4 flat cold rolled.

My friend wanted to do the welding this time and he added the round tubing pieces.

They will be bolted to the 6x8 posts that are behind the steel panels.

20240226_123439.jpg.c1382b2180cdba6d16ff0110d994d28e.jpg

Dropped them all off at my friends powdercoat business today. I've been doing business with him for 26 years. It's a super busy time of year for him.. he's working 7 days a week now.

He did 400+ race car frames LAST year.

We agreed on the best matching sample as compared to the Ford blue oval on his grille.

http://www.custommetalcoating.com/

What are you going to do with a shelf that deep?

'Stuff' gets lost at the back..:nabble_smiley_thinking:

Agreed. I'll have 20" of available height in back and 31" in front so my plan is to be able to put parts in specific hard plastic storage containers and not have them hanging over. I may put a light trolley or track along the ceiling with an electric winch overhead to help lift things up there too.

Time will tell.

The bottom side will provide lights above my work bench and an easy place to mount and hide air lines overhead with drops at each end.

Agreed. I'll have 20" of available height in back and 31" in front so my plan is to be able to put parts in specific hard plastic storage containers and not have them hanging over. I may put a light trolley or track along the ceiling with an electric winch overhead to help lift things up there too.

Time will tell.