Bullnose Forums

Contemplating new wheels and increasing tire size to 31"

Jon M

Hi folks,

This gold mine of a website never ceases to amaze me. I'm having a little trouble and I think you can help. My truck came with a three inch lift. I've debated between going back to stock height or increasing tire size to compensate for the appearance of small wheels and currently I've settled on increased tire size to 31".

but if I do that I'll also need new rims because I'm just not a fan of black rims that came with the truck. So I'm looking at finding some steelies (too keep the price down) with the factory spoked look and then increasing the tire size to 31 inches. However, since I'm looking at new wheels AND tires, I have no idea what sizes I should be considering for either.

This isn't something I'll be doing immediately but I want to start wrapping my brain around sizes for both the tires and the wheels and I have no idea where to start.

Hi Jon,

I'm not a pro, but changing your tires height (and so their diameter) might have an impact on your speedometer accuracy. Just keep it in mind, you could have to replace the cable driven gear.

Maybe others could comment about this.

Big Brother has 31" tires (31.5" when I mesure them), with stock steel wheels.

Is this what you are talking about?

F45B59F1-3000-4237-9E84-A1B66798ED7E.jpeg.53fc1db6a66e41cee79f4a4d59b5891e.jpeg

Hi Jon,

Your truck has 5 on 5.5" lug pattern and 15" rims

When I was looking for replacement steelies for my truck I settled on Wheel Vintiques 62 series.

They look really close and fit my dog dish hubcaps.

A 31x10.5R 15 tire seems to fit 7=9" wide rim and still be available (unfortunately selections are getting small for these older rim diameters)

I can't say about backspace, as my 250 came with 16" rims, but Gary should have data for stock 150 rims somewhere here on the site.

Edit: just checked. They offer an 8" wide rim with 4" backspace. https://www.summitracing.com/parts/wvi-62-585504