Bullnose Forums

AC install after 460 swap

I'm finally getting around to installing my AC plumbing after the 460 swap in my 84 Bronco. I have retained all of the HVAC as it came from the factory (OEM style at least) with the exception of the compressor. I am switching over to a Sanden style compressor and moved it to the passenger side of the engine. All of the original wiring for the heater and AC is there as well.

I've never done A/C before, but I feel like I'm at least capable of duplicating the factory configuration for the plumbing and wiring. I am making my own lines. I guess #12 A/C fittings have gone out of style, so I am making an adapter to reduce the Accumulator output to #10 and then going directly into the Compressor suction side. The Compressor to Condenser line would be a #8 and so would the Condensor to Evaporator line. The orifice tube would drop inside the Evaporator inlet. I wouldn't use #6 lines anywhere.

So if I do this, and plumb and wire the system exactly as it came from the factory but with a Sanden compressor instead of the factory one, will it work?

I certainly don't see why it wouldn't work, provided the compressor you choose is sized appropriately. But why go to the bother? Unless you work at a hydraulic shop, or have a friend who does, I'm not sure why you wouldn't just get factory-style stuff. That's what I did when I assembled my AC system.

Some of the early 80's hoses can be hard to find, but I upgraded to the serpentine belt system from the 90's, and all that stuff is readily available. So if I pop a hose or a compressor or whatever in the future, it's "I need x for a 95 F150" at the auto parts store and I'm all set.

Having said that, I have a lot of stuff on my truck that is custom, so I'm as bad as anyone about this.

Just curious what you view as the advantage to all the DIY/custom stuff.