Bullnose Forums

Having fuel problems need a direction to head in

Alright fellers I have an 83 f150 with a carburated 300 six here. It died twice when going uphill within 2 days, and then refused to start again. It will run (roughly) for a second or two when I pour a little gas into the carb, then die. I figured it was the fuel pump, so I replaced the mechanical fuel pump, the fuel filter, and blew out the line in between them. Still no fuel, the starter will turn it but it won't run.

The rubber hose going to the tank was empty when I pulled it off the old pump, but it was sitting for a while, so I figured it drained back to the tank. I poured a little gas in the rubber hose thinking it might prime it up a little bit I got nothing. I also noticed that the choke plate was fully closed when I took the air filter housing off, and if I reset it by hand, when the throttle cable pulls it shut completely again. Is this normal? I'm a total novice to carburetors so if anyone's got any advice or insight I'd love to hear it.

I was thinking that my next step would be to replace the rubber hose between the pump and the hard line running back to the tank, in case the ethanol swelled it up or something. The gas gauge doesn't work, but to my knowledge it has at least a few gallons in the tank. If the hose replacement doesn't make any difference, which direction do I head? Do I look at the carburator, or do I begin the process of removing the bed to look at the tank?

Edit: Replaced the rubber hoses, they turned out to be 5/16"

If the engine hasn't been run in an hour or so the choke should be closed.

But if you aren't getting fuel then the problem is between the tank and the pump. There's a rubber hose from the tank to the hard line, and if you have two tanks there's another hose from the hard line to the switching valve, then another from the valve to the hard line. And then the hose from the hard line to the fuel pump that you mentioned.