tie rods

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
25 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

tie rods

85blueox
I need to replace my 85's old tie rods, any expert/non-expert recomendations?
85 6.9 4 door rusty beast
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: tie rods

Machspeed
Administrator
I'm no expert, but I've replaced mine a couple of times. What I would tell you is to spend the money and get quality parts.  
John

"Blackie" - 1986 F150 4x4 - Mildly warmed over 351W HO - Original owner
Reply | Threaded
|

Bruce moose4x4
In reply to this post by 85blueox
Don't try to count threads or the like to put it back where it was.

Make a mark or use a fixed point on the other part of the link. Measure the distance from the mark to the center of the tie rod end. (Where they used to put grease zerts) and install new one to that measurement.
Bruce aka Moose--1978 F250 LWB Flareside, Dana 60's w/ 4:10's, 460, c6
Reply | Threaded
|

85blueox
I agree, what manufacturers are the best to go with?
Reply | Threaded
|

mat in tn
I don't know about claiming any one as best, but I have had great results using moog parts.
Reply | Threaded
|

Gsmblue
I have MOOG parts in my Amazon cart, just waiting for the weather to improve before pulling the trigger.
1985.5 F-150 XL Explorer standard cab 5.0 EFI AOD 4x4
Daily Driver. We call her Eunice the Ute.

1982 Bronco XLT Lariat 351W AOD 4x4
Code name Esperanza, or Espy to her friends. Please see my Project thread for the blow by blow.

1984 F-350 XL Centurion crew cab 460 T19 4x4
"Eylza Dual-little"
Reply | Threaded
|

Machspeed
Administrator
In reply to this post by mat in tn
Yes, MOOG! As I recall, MOOG has a line that is top rated and the best. Can't recall the specifics now but that is what I went with.
John

Reply | Threaded
|

85blueox
been on Moog's site trying to find which ones, not a very helpful site.  Does'nt really tell me which ones I need.
Reply | Threaded
|

Bruce moose4x4
Reply | Threaded
|

Gsmblue