need to know, 1986 F150 atart and run problem

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

need to know, 1986 F150 atart and run problem

Bo Frodo

History: Truck has been sitting for around 10 yrs. I took on the project.
The patient: 1986 F150 short bed, 302 EFI auto trans, base model. VIN 1FTCF15N4GKA06002

As you can see from the fuel tank pic, I have major clog problems. So far I replaced with new: fuel tank (mid-ship),roll over vent valve, sending unit with low pressure fuel pump, fuel filter on frame rail, high pressure fuel pump, injectors, and inj. connectors.

Results so far: Fuel at schrader valve squirts fuel, engine turns over and fires, but will not catch and run.
I really love this body style and power pkg. I am retired and just looking for a dependable drive. I am a novice never done anything more than change oil or tire. Hats off to YOUTUBE, but I am at a crossroads and don't know to try or do net.

Any helpful suggestions???
Patient: '86 reg.cab, short bed, 302 V8, EFI, auto trans, sitting out for 10 yrs., not abused just neglected, fires with strtr fld but won't run (yet)
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: need to know, 1986 F150 atart and run problem

ArdWrknTrk
Administrator
Try removing the spout to lock the timing and take the computer out of the equation.
 Jim,
Lil'Red is a '87 F250 HD, 4.10's, 1356 4x4, Zf-5, 3G, PMGR, Saginaw PS, desmogged with a Holley 80508 and Performer intake.
Too much other stuff to mention.
Reply | Threaded
|

RE: need to know, 1986 F150 atart and run problem

Bo Frodo

Okay, that’s a start for me, I’ll look for what a spout is and where it’s at.

Sent from Mail for Windows 10

Sent: Wednesday, February 26, 2020 1:01 PM
To: [hidden email]
Subject: Re: need to know, 1986 F150 atart and run problem

Try removing the spout to lock the timing and take the computer out of the equation.

Jim,