Rear axle: swap or fix?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
11 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Rear axle: swap or fix?

IowaTom
Guys - My '85 F150 (4X4) has the C-clip rear axle, for lack of a more correct description.
While I was rehabbing the truck, I'd removed the axle cover for inspection and found the screw that holds everything together was (is) broken.  A frequent find, I guess.  This weighs on my mind as I drive her...  In all my years driving, I do remember seeing a few instances where the wheel & shaft of someone's car tried to leave the vehicle and it was scary looking.
I'm a gentle driver anyway but know that doesn't necessarily make any difference.
Is there a fix for this axle beyond removing & replacing the screw...or is it just a bad design totally and need to be replaced?  Makes me wonder, with all the smarts Ford had in engineering, why on earth would such a weak link get through?
I've never pulled the gears out of a rear end but would be willing to try.  I have become familiar with the older Dana 44s and 27s with the tapered shafts, over the years, having replaced or repacked bearings on their shafts, but this is a different animal.
Should I replace the axle altogether or make a change in what's there now - and in your opinion, should I worry about driving around now?  (When I found the broken screw I didn't address the issue at the time, just put the broken half back.)
Thanks!
'85 F150 XLT 4X4 with 300 c.i. six & NP435 four speed.
'63 Studebaker Avanti - 350/TH350
'59 Rambler Super - OHV 6 with 3-speed OD
'58 Studebaker Scotsman sedan - 289 with 3-speed OD
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Rear axle: swap or fix?

FuzzFace2
I remember seeing post on this, want to say it was the early year axles that had this.
I also think the Mustang guys had this issue?

I want to say there is a fix but cant remember what it was?
Different shaft that tanks a larger bolt maybe?