New user with questions

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New user with questions

JohnnyRyals85
Hello everyone and thanks for allowing me in. I just picked up a 1985 F250 4x4 automatic with a 351m and an Edelbrock 1906 avs2 carb. Factory a/c, ps, pb, with the emissions mostly removed. I’m glad to find the forum still active. It’s been really helpful thus far. It’s a pretty solid truck but still comes with its issues. I’m a novice at best and trying to get into automotive wrenching more and the bullnose has always been a dream. Although I didn’t get my dream truck it’s a good place to start.

The truck was “running and driving” when I picked it up but wouldn’t idle. It had been sitting for about 4 years. I’m going through the systems now to get it back road worthy again I’m not looking to do a full restoration just a good driver.

I’ve drained the tank, the best I can without a full removal, rebuilt the carb and put in inline fuel filters and pressure regulator. With the automatic choke I noticed I have the factory choke solenoid on the drivers side firewall. I didn’t have power to the choke wire and in tracing the wires back found out all the wires going to the alternator were disconnected and when I pulled the alternator I discovered it has a GM 10si style alternator installed and no harness coming out of the alternator. I’m trying to figure out now what’s the best direction to go with the alternator and the electric choke. Any and all feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks I’m advanced.
1985 F250 4x4 351w
Auto, Edelbrock avs2
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: New user with questions

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Welcome to the forum.  Glad you joined.