New from NC

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New from NC

AmericanSavage
I have been lurking here a lot lately to solve various quandaries that have come up.  One member of your board has been quite helpful (over @ Ford-enthusiasts), and I have been spending so much time here I figured I should sign up.  I have mentioned Gary's great resources several times, and his work has been so helpful--a godsend even.

I should add as a preface, that I wanted to rescue an older truck.  I missed manual Trans. and the manual locking hubs.  I am a novice--I have never done anything like this before, but am no stranger to small mechanical work etc., since I was a teenager.  I rebuilt my Dad's Rochester on his 1973 ¾ ton, a truck I still wish I had.  At any rate, I am not shooting for concourse, but something presentable, and to be put to use while taken care of.  This truck was neglected.  I recently restored my 1988 Harley, which was MUCH easier to do than this!

In April I bought a 1980 F350 (more details in signature).  I have been working on it nearly every day since.  I have the cab body work done, and this last weekend, I shot the color--of what I thought was the original.  

This has been a bit of debate--the cab/door sticker is mostly removed, and then it was painted over.  So I do not know exactly the color of the truck, except for my body work which reveals--top to bottom, on every panel, something like this Red>primer>Sand (6D)>epoxy primer>metal.  So, I thought, Sand was the color of the truck.  There's no frills for molding EXCEPT on the lower cab where there's 2 holes for trim.  There is absolutely no trim holes anywhere else on the truck.  None, except for the XLT on cab, Ranger/Custom/F350 on fender, and F-O-R-D emblems on the hood.