New Member - Hey!

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
13 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New Member - Hey!

Jake Papageorge
Hi All, the name is Jake and thanks for the great forum!  Hopefully, I will make all the right moves as I do not belong to many forums.  As a matter of fact, the reason I decided to join this one is because so many generic searches keep leading back to this forum.  You all have been very helpful to my effort.  

First off, I am a very seasoned master tech including a former ford dealership tech and current ASSET trainer.  When I used to work in the dealership, I worked on a ton of the bullnose trucks!  I have not owned one in near 30 years, but recently, I inherited one from a piece of property that had several 89 to 96's but I got the 85. I rescued the 86 XLT Lariat Explorer that was loaded with damn near every option available with only 45K.  It is very solid with a near perfect interior.  It is a super trailering truck with quad shock and everything!  

The only catch is that someone put a plow on it and seems to have hit something with the plow frame that protrudes down below the front bumper and bolts to the front frame where the bumper mounts.  As a result, the right front "frame horn" ahead of the engine cradle is kind of crumpled.  With the exception of that, the truck is in very solid shape! My hope is that I can find a frame horn and weld it on there to get this thing perfect!  

It has been quite a walk down memory lane as I fix all the neglected stuff on this thing!  ten solid days of suspension and brake work as well as diagnosing power window and lock issues, heater core leaks, inop gauges, and converting the old inop radio to a newer ford radio head and installing a PM starter and Delco CS 130 alternator.  

Anyway, I digress.  I just wanted to introduce myself and say I look forward to contributing to the forum.  
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: New Member - Hey!

Gary Lewis
Administrator