1234 ... 14
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Jim's 1982 300 Six Bronco Original Restoration

JimJam300
This post was updated on .
Hello everyone,

Welcome to my build thread. The goal here is to get my 1982 Bronco back to original condition. That's it!
This thread is basically ripped from FullSizeBronco forums and will be basically identical in content but I can't control user posts. Corrections based on later info are in italics.

Just a little introduction on myself. I've been messing around with cars for a few years now and I finally have the confidence and funds to do a restoration. I had a 2000 Toyota 4Runner that I was wrenching on for a couple years but even before I bought it, what I really wanted was a Bronco or a Blazer, something big that can take highway driving like a champ with a removable top. For a while I've been casually looking so last week I went out and bought a 1982 with a 300 inline six and 4 speed manual trans and thought "wow this thing would look really cool with a new paint job!" So here I am with this Bronco sitting in my driveway. As a young man of 27, I have limited knowledge of Ford trucks (I've owned a 2003 Ranger, 1990 Ranger, and a 1994 Explorer scrap pile...), I have zero experience with carbureted engines, and I've never done any jobs bigger than a simple engine swap or interior rebuild. But I am willing to put in the hard work to get the job done and come out of this with a pretty truck I can be proud of. I invite constructive criticism for anything I am doing incorrectly, as I am still learning and I want this build to be done the right way.