Ford 9" axle shaft/bearing replacment

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Ford 9" axle shaft/bearing replacment

Jake Papageorge
Although I have had a lot of experience with the Ford 9", until recently, I have not had to use a stock type bearing on one.  Usually, when I build a 9" for drag racing, I put the "big" housing ends on it and use the O ring style sealed bearing with the seal before the bearing in the axle tube.  

Recently, I took the 3rd member out of my 85 and this thing was in pretty bad shape due to water in the gear dope.  Long story short, this thing is getting new ring and pinion, bearings and a trac loc carrier.  Upon inspecting the splines (31 spline axle with a 2.890 bearing) they are hammered as well, so we are getting some new axles and axle bearings. Here is where it gets interesting!  

I order a new set of Motive axles and some Timken axle bearing kits (KIT 20).  Usually, on these things, If I am putting a stock bearing back on the original axle, I take a quick measurement between the retaining ring and the end of the machined surface so I can get the bearing set up in the right place.  

Here is the rub!

The new axles have a longer machined "boss" than the originals.  I get out my caliper, measure from the outside of the retaining ring (Wedding ring) to the outside flange (where the studs are) and push the assembly on. Back in the day, I would not have given this a second thought, but when I got it positioned where I wanted it, it seems like the bearing is a fair amount of distance further from the shoulder on the axle behind the flange than it was on the old axles.  As a matter of fact, the old axle was seated right on the shoulder.