classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
7 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Darth Vader

85lebaront2
Administrator
Well, I know most of you so far, Thanks Gary for setting this up.

For those of you who don't know Darth Vader is the name my son and a group of his friends tagged it with. Originally black with silver and red sides (custom job for the original owners), from the front, the Lund visor and grille guard made it look like Darth Vader.

I am 71 years old as of May 6 this year and retired from a career breaking things (at least the last 30 years), I worked in the auto repair business both for myself and others, including a Dodge, Mercedes-Benz, Jaguar, MG, and Dodge import dealership. My business was Preston Carburetion in Newport News VA and we were a Holley service center, but also carried Carter, Stromberg and Rochester. We did tune-up, carburetor repairs and performance work. I also worked on SU, Zenith Stromberg, Hitachi, Aisan, Kehin, Nikki and Weber carbs.

I do not have a college degree, but my supervisor at Huntington Ingalls Newport News Shipbuilding told me that Tom Timberlake and myself were the best non-degreed engineers he had ever met.

As for Darth, he is a 1986 F-350, crew cab dual rear wheel pickup with a 460, originally carbureted and C6, now MAF/SEFI E4OD. Fuel economy ranges from 10 - 12.5 mpg depending on driving. Engine controls are via a reflashed EEC-V computer. Interior has been updated to a 1996 dash, steering column and a pair of Lincoln Continental 10 way power buckets. I have also added a remote keyless entry system with the door mounted number pad.
Bill AKA "LOBO" Profile