Carb overflow

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Carb overflow

Shankles McBullnose
I've noticed the past few trips a bit of stuttering coming from my 81 f150. (460 and Holley 600) the carb finally filled up and started spraying fuel so it's stranded at my job. I'm thinking before I pull the carb and check my floats that it's an over pressure issue first. Currently have a mechanical pump with no regulator and currently no return line to the tank. The outlet is there on the pump for it but the PO has it capped.  My question is, if I add the return line, and assuming that is the issue, will the carb only take in the fuel it requires?

Im not 100% sure but I would think due to it's design it would send the access through that return through back pressure. But obviously I'm not a carb designer...just figured I'd try that first then get a regulator next then clear the floats
81 F150 460/C6 600 cfm Holley
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Carb overflow

Gary Lewis
Administrator
If it didn't do it for the last few months/years then I doubt it is too much pressure.  The mechanical pumps usually only put out about 6 psi and the Holley's are usually fine with that.

I suspect you may have gotten some bad gas.  I did that once with a Holley and it gooed up the needles so badly they wouldn't seal.  It flooded and gas went everywhere.

I would pull the float bowls off, inspect and clean the needles as well as the bowls, and put them back on.  Start it up and see if the problem is gone - at least for a little bit.  If it is the gas the problem will probably come back, but if it is too much pressure the problem won't have gone away at all.
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow