Best Electronic Connectors

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Best Electronic Connectors

Nickelplate
I have been working on old Fords for over 20 years now. One of those is the Bronco that I still have! In that time, my attitudes have changed on electrical connectors.

For many years, I would only replace a connector with what was there before. That involved parts cars, NOS parts, junkyards, and lots of soldering and heat shrink. There's a place for this approach, but I've strayed from it because it's expensive and time-consuming. Also, the NOS and junkyard parts are getting fewer and more brittle all the time.

Then, I became a WeatherPack guy! I started putting 5.0L EFI engines and AOD transmissions in Mustangs and Cougars, and there was no shared standard between those classics and the early 90's transplants. Some of the companies that were making parts and kits for the restomod industry were using WeatherPack, and I loved the freedom of deciding to make my own connectors and choosing the number of pins, etc. This was also a great solution for making my own wiring harnesses and making the connections between aftermarket/EFI stuff and the old cars. I've been a WeatherPack guy since the 2000's... until this year.