AC System

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

AC System

C.Jett
R12 stay or go?  Installing new system in 1985 F150 4.9 l.  Should I go to R134, pros and cons. C. Jett
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: AC System

taskswap
I'm no expert but I'm planning to pull/revamp my AC this spring and definitely plan to convert. It's not hard to do, you can often get any remaining R12 drained for free because it's valuable, and it's one less thing to worry about in the future.
--
1981 F-250 Custom. 6.6L V8, 4 barrel Holley carb, ARA aftermarket A/C.
Reply | Threaded
|

mat in tn
I only install r134a. if for no other reason than availability. if a 95 truck can be charged well enough then why not. they are practically the same systems with very minor differences and most of those are interchangeable. besides i swap to serpentine on nearly every build and use 3g alt and newer type compressor also. on a restoration i would keep it as original as possible though. if its a driver then its what ever you need to do. i just put my camper special back together and kept all 1981 ac along with v belts too. but i have not investigated restoring the ac just yet.
Reply | Threaded
|

C.Jett
In reply to this post by C.Jett
1985 F 150 4.9 l. Need to know correct ac hoses from Rock Auto.  Suction hose GPD 4811467, it matches my configuration ?  Liquid line 4Seasons 55882, says w/o orifice tube, mine has tube?  Discharge line, GPD or 4Seasons?  55889 does not match my line.  Thanks
Reply | Threaded
|

FuzzFace2
You cant always go by the pictures.
When I did my 81 using a 86 compressor (brings on other hose issues) I think I ordered the hoses on line but sent to a local store.
It worked out good because 1 of the hoses did not fit so was able to return it with out to much issues.

I would say order them local just in case they are wrong.
IIRC mine were listed as factory installed AC or dealer installed or something like that.