classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
19 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

1986 460 Fuel Pump Question

Dale Barber
New member, first post.

I have a 1986 F350 with a 460 engine, dump truck.  Bought it about 15 years ago and it has 66K original miles on it.  I only put a couple hundred miles a year on it, quite a bit of it around our property and never more than 15 miles or so from home.

Last October the fuel pump gave out in it - in tank electric - and I replaced it with a new one.  Last Wednesday morning I went to use it and it would not start.  I'm a retried mechanical engineer who has been messing with cars and trucks for 60 years but sure am no expert on this setup.  But I do have the basic Ford shop manuals for the truck - and thank Gary for the EVTM and schematic in the forum as they were invaluable.

Engine runs fine with an 'alternate tank' - salvaged lawn mower tank.  Some previous owner did a major rework of things.  For one, the fuel vapor separator is missing and the return fuel line to the tank is plugged, not used.  The fuel pump cutoff relay is not used, just hanging by a couple wires.  The connector upstream from the relay has the male half missing and a jumper installed between the red/yellow line coming from the oil pressure sensor (if I've got things figured out correctly) and the pink line (with a black wire as well) that feeds the fuel pump.  It took me a while - and a bit of help from a buddy - to figure out the 'modifications' we had at hand.

With all those pieces missing I patched in a wire from an unused slot in the fuse block, put in an in line 8 amp fuse and got almost no fuel pumping.  So I'm suspicious that the pump is fried even though I can hear it running, or at least making noise.  I did not investigate the system at all last fall when I replaced the pump, as it had been running fine for years as is.  So I just replaced the bad part with a good one.