locked BOTH sets of keys in truck....

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
19 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

locked BOTH sets of keys in truck....

rcarlisle
I managed to lock BOTH sets of keys in truck other night.  Yep.   Fortunately I left the driver's window cracked to let doors close easier. with new weather stripping.  I have the little metal visors over windows so it won't rain in and I leave window down an inch or two.  One set of keys was in igntion, other on passenger seat.  Found a wire coat hanger, thought maybe I could hook the door handle and pull it up.   Negative.  I could hook the handle, just not get enough tug to open door.  

So I studied and reshaped my hanger and went for the keys in ignition.   Hooked into the key, wiggled and wiggled til it started backing out.   Eased it out and to the window and through crack without losing them.  SCORE!!!!  

I have to get a LARGER keyring so I might see it in the igntion.   Other set was in truck from when I left the main keys in it the night before and had been working at my mom's and set them in passenger seat.  Might be time for a hide a key on the truck somewhere.   I saw a YT revival vid where they found a spare key hanging from the washer bottle lid in a car with outside hood release.  Something like that for the old bullnose.  

My regular car is one of them new fangled keyless things.  That has it's own issues too.  I went in for a dr appt once and left car running.   It was still running when I came out 30 minutes later.  
Randy

Mt. Airy, NC   81 F-150 STYLESIDE regular cab 2wd.   302 Auto Zone crate.  5 spd M5od-R2  
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: locked BOTH sets of keys in truck....

1986F150Six
Administrator
All's well that ends well!
Reply | Threaded
|

Gary Lewis
Administrator
In reply to this post by rcarlisle