Top End Performance and Maintenance

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
11 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Top End Performance and Maintenance

fords4life
Motor has 160k original miles and is bone stock untouched. It also needs new valve cover gaskets and has an oil leak at the rear of the lower intake manifold. Going to be R&Ring the lower manifold and valve covers in the next couple weeks. I'm new to the older motors and am not familiar with all the little tricks. Anything I should make sure to check out or any performance upgrades I can do while I'm in that deep? No head swaps at this point. Some porting working on the manifold would be easy for me. Also plan to check compression and put some new plugs in it.
1986 F-150 SC 2wd 4spd 302EFI Base Model all OEM motor/trans/emissions equipment.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Top End Performance and Maintenance

Gary Lewis
Administrator
I've read that port-matching the intake to the head is good.  But there's not much else to do.  And, with a speed-density system you really can't change much even when you do pull the heads.

And the front and rear seals are a pain.  I like to use RTV for them and not the included gaskets.  Put a 1/4" bead of RTV on the walls at each end, and using cut-off bolts for guide pins lower the bottom plenum on evenly.  Tighten down the proper bolts finger tight and let it sit over night for the RTV to cure.  Then come back and torque the bolts down to spec.

But the walls and the plenum have to be CLEAN or the RTV won't stick to them.  
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow
Big Blue: 1985 F250HD 4x4: 460/ZF5/3.55's, D60 w/Ox locker & 10.25 Sterling/Trutrac, Blue Top & Borgeson, & EEC-V MAF/SEFI

Reply | Threaded
|