classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
10 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Some anecdotal notes on the 300 HD manifold

Ford F834
Administrator
When David/1986F150six told me of his dual carb Clifford intake purchase, it was brought up once again that he would like to find the HD manifold to go with it. I have a trip to Verde valley planned and will try my favorite junkyards again, but I’ve been checking for several years without luck. The other alternative is a Chinese reproduction, but it is over $300 and some years back I read that there were complaints of it cracking... so I thought I’d wing it out there on Facebook and see who all had purchased it and what their experience was regarding quality.

One gentleman said he maintains a fleet of 25 F600’s for an airline. He said about half of them are running reproduction manifolds and they have been fine. I asked him the reason for replacement and he said some of the OEM ones cracked, others had the engine sent out for rebuilding and came back with pickup exhaust set ups. It is noteworthy, though, that OEM ones crack too. He said the quality of the repro units has also improved over the past 10 years.