classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
13 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Rebuilding A Locking Hood Release

salans7
This post was updated on .
By using a non-locking hood release. Gary, feel free to add this wherever you may see fit (Resources/Interior?).

Author: Shaun (salans7)

This is just a small how-to on replacing the cable on a locking hood release unit with the cable from a basic non-locking hood release. I am by no means a professional, so I take no responsibility for any damage you cause to either yourself, or your locking hood release cable. This is the method I used to repair the cable on my F150, and it worked great. Investigate all of your options before choosing to utilize this method of repair.

Tools:
-10 mm socket for the under-dash mounting bolts (your truck may differ in size)
- 8 mm socket (latch mechanism cover)
- Small pry bar, large flathead screwdriver, or pliers (your choice).
-Grinder or cut off wheel. Electric or Air powered.
- Safety glasses and related PPE (Think smart, be safe)
- Drill and drill bit set (For rivets)

Step 1. Remove latch cable security plate. Bolt size is an 8MM. It is unnecessary to remove the latch assembly to do this, you just need to lift up on the upper grille support to gain clearance for the cover to slide out of it's position. But if you don't want to squeeze it through that way or you have an all original truck with perfect paint, remove the latch assembly to gain more room.

Step 2: Remove cable grommet from latch mechanism. This is best done with a pry bar as shown, but I have also used pliers to put pressure on the grommet and "push" it out. Once the grommet is free, pop the black plastic cover off the cable loop post if equipped. Slip the cable end loop off it's post, and remove the cable from it's holding clips along the top of the radiator support and the fender.