classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
12 messages Options
Guy
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: 1982 F-150 302 Engine

Guy
I preface this with full disclosure that I'm a novice to cars, in general. I recently purchased a 1982 F-150 second hand, and it was running. I drove it home about 35miles on city streets even go her up to 70mph. I stopped to put some gas in it but kept it running.

I completely gutted it and cleaned it out. I wanted to clean all the dust off the engine, so I bought some degreaser (Gunk). I regret the heck out of that decision. Ever since then, I haven't been able to get the truck to turn on.

I ended up doing the following to help the situation or so I thought: New Spark Plugs + Wires, New Battery, and New Distributor Cap + Rotor. I ended up installing all of that with help from a buddy, and it still wouldn't turn over. I then went to AutoZone for some advice, and I bought some Pyroil Starter Fluid to see if it was a spark issue or if gas was the issue. I'm kinda thinking it may be a fuel filter or fuel line issue, but like I said I'm a novice and just guessing at this point. Also, I don't get how it would be a gas issue if I drove all the way home???

Anyone out there think they know or have any advice?
Reply | Threaded
|

kramttocs
Administrator
Welcome!

What exactly is it doing right now when you turn the key?
You say it won't turn over? Does it click? Do you have power to the rest of the cab? Headlights, interior lights, etc.

Can you take a picture of the fender mounted relay? Will be located near the battery (mounted on the fender).
Scott
'Camano' 1986 F250 Supercab XLT Lariat 460/C6
'Chanute' 1980 F350 C&C 400/NP 435 - Gin Pole

But there ain't nothin' wrong with the radio
Reply | Threaded
|

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Yes, welcome!  I'm confident we can get you going, but Scott/kramttoc's questions are good ones.