classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Question about kick down linkage

Hamm0ckjames
Howdy Again,
My Apologies, You probably have already covered this question before. But here goes, As some of you know I'm installing an Edelbrock 4bbl intake manifold on my 1986 F150 with the 2bbl  351w. And soon to be perched upon top of that will be the nefarious Quadrajet, on which a kick down linkage connection will either have to be fabricated or made to fit from a donor carb by myself.
However the idea of a kick down cable has been offered up, of which I have no experience with. So I am looking for a bit of feedback from y'all as to which might be the better option. Since the linkage arm has been around for as long as the C6 has, I presume, I would imagine it would be the way to go since the designers created it in the first place. But, and there's always one of those,,,
Since those engineers have retired and the next generation of thinkers came up with the cable component, I'm at a loss as to which of the two would offer better performance and bank for the buck. So if you please, offer up some of your expertise, I greatly appreciate it. Thank you,,,,,
New Project Rough 1986 F150 4x4 Extra Cab
It's so ugly,,,,, I might have to name it  "Moco".
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Question about kick down linkage

Gary Lewis
Administrator
I think the stock kickdown linkage can be modified to fit basically any carb.  I haven't done it as I just left the linkage off and pulled the shift lever down when I wanted to shift.

Anyway, here's what the parts catalog shows:

Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile

Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow